Posted on


US Power Metal band DIRE PERIL,
made from members of Helion Prime and Judicator,
release their first single, Heart of the Furyan, off the long awaited debut album
“The Extraterrestrial Compendium.”

Jason comments: “I know the album doesn’t come out for roughly four more months but we have a few things in the works that I really wanted a song out to showcase how the band sounds now and who we currently are. Also I’m just to excited to not share this album with everyone that I really couldn’t wait any longer.”

The album is set to be released worldwide via Divebomb Records on November 9th, 2018.
The album will consist of twelve full length tracks each, inspired from a different science fiction movie. It will feature guest perfomances from Arjen Anthony Lucassen (Ayreon) and Brittney Slayes (Unleash the Archers).

The album was mixed by Carlos Alvarez at Dirty Viking Audio Productions and mastered by Brett Caldas-Lima at Tower Studio.
Cover art for the album was done by Gwen Vibancos
Cover art for the single was done by Jill Colbert at Manfish Inc.
The single: “Heart of the Furyan” is based on the character Riddick from the “The Chronicles of Riddick” series that started in 2000 with the film “Pitch Black.”

Stay tuned for further announcements from the band which will include Pre-Orders of the album.

Dire Peril – The Extraterretrial Compendium
01 – Yautja (Hunter Culture)
02 – Planet Preservation
03 – Enemy Mine
04 – The Visitor
05 – Total Recall
06 – Queen of the Galaxy*
07 – Roughnecks
08 – Blood in the Ice
09 – Heart of the Furyan
10 – Altair IV: The Forbidden Planet
11 – Always Right Here
12 – Journey Beyond the Stars**

*Features Brittney Slayes
**Features Arjen Anthony Lucassen

Watch Heart of the Furyan here:

Posted on




Consisting of Jason Ashcraft (guitars) from Helion Prime and John Yelland (vocals) from Judicator, DIRE PERIL has signed with Divebomb Records for the release of their long-overdue debut full-length, The Extraterrestrial Compendium. Available on November 9th, 2018, the album will feature guest performances by Brittney Slayes (Unleash the Archers)—reprising her role as Barbarella for a re-recorded version of “Queen of the Galaxy”—and the mighty Arjen Anthony Luccassen (Ayreon, Star One, The Gentle Storm), who lends his voice and guitar skills to album-closer “Journey Beyond the Stars.”

Ashcraft comments, “I have been biting my tongue, mostly, for about three years now that we got Arjen to perform on one of our tracks. Those who know me understand that this is a dream come true for me. Arjen is a huge inspiration to myself and my music, and to have had the honor to work with him is something that will be a main highlight throughout my career. He is very humble and great to work with. I hope everyone is as pleased with the outcome as I am.”

Each of The Extraterrestrial Compendium’s 12 tracks is based on a sci-fi film. “I always loved the idea behind Iced Earth’s Horror Show—making each song based on a famous monster film. If it isn’t obvious from the music, I’m somewhat of an Iced Earth fan,” states Jason, “so when coming up with ideas for this debut, I thought it would be cool to take a similar direction, but with something that I’m passionate about. As you can see by the final result, we get an album based on some of my all-time favorite sci-fi films. It was certainly hard to choose, as I could probably make DIRE PERIL’s entire career on favorite films alone.”

Together, the duo—through many obstacles—is prepared to present The Extraterrestrial Compendium to the world, as well as the friends and fans who have waited so patiently.

Yelland notes, “Working on this album was a joy. I had always admired Jason’s material, so the opportunity to collaborate with him was irresistible. I am so proud of what we have accomplished, and can’t wait to share this—and more—with the world…”


1. Yautja (Hunter Culture)

2. Planet Preservation

3. Enemy Mine

4. The Visitor

5. Total Recall

6. Queen of the Galaxy

7. Roughnecks

8. Blood in the Ice

9. Heart of the Furyan

10. Altair IV: The Forbidden Planet

11. Always Right Here

12. Journey Beyond the Stars

***Indiegogo crowdfunding perks will be honored on or before release date.***